Ashfaque

Jonoon al Oud
Radiant Chypre
36636736_1968655366780868_7610995310541668352_n.jpg

This is my first attempt to make a proper floral bouquet within the chypre framework. Although it looks quite dark, the florals in it are all about uplifting the mood of the wearer - mainly me and my better half - my lovely guinea pig!

It begins with a simple bergamot with a super smooth nutmeg absolute, and then further mellowed by butter CO2 - a very lovely stuff that smells like a cross between ghee (clarified butter) and a 100% butter. It also eases us into the floral bouquet which is assisted by lot of base materials, none of which takes away the centre stage from the floral bouquet that I’m trying to create in this chypre.

Neroli and orange blossom absolute takes over from the bergamot – slowly taking it towards a sweeter spectrum. There is a lot of red champaca, gardenia and rose (otto and abs) in it – a lot! I like the heady interaction between gardenia and red champaca, whilst the Persian rose otto lends its ‘green creaminess’ and the Turkish rose provides a more floral intensity. Lavender abs and jasmine sambac evokes freshness and indoles respectively in this floral andante. As usual civet’s impact is quite influential – the marginal benefit of having and adding some civet is just too big to avoid!

In the dry down I can detect leathery sweetness from a Chittagong oud and animalics (from castoreum and hyrax) and dryness from tobacco, which seem to go quite nicely with two ouds and buddha wood – improving the overall radiancy of the attar. I used a white ambergris to open up the spectrum. Interestingly, I can detect this sea-gold from the bottle (smell of fresh sea breeze), but not on my skin. However, it serves its main purpose – diffusion of other oils for longer time, especially florals.