• IMPORTANT NOTICE: DURING THIS MONTH, WE WILL BE MAKING MANY CHANGES TO OUDDICT AND SOME WILL INVOLVE EITHER TAKING THE SITE OFFLINE OR THE REMOVAL OF FEATURES. PLEASE BEAR WITH US WHILE WE TRY AND IMPROVE THE EXPERIENCE PROVIDED BY THIS SITE TO ITS VALUED MEMBERS, THANK YOU.

Attar Making Advice For A Beginner

Johnnyboy

Whats this Oud About?
Hey there, I am relatively new to the world of oud/attars/natural perfumery but I have been feeling really inspired recently and would like to venture into creating my own attars/mukhallats.

My current understanding is that all of the components in it should be as undiluted as possible to make the composition as powerful as it can be. I have been running into a few problems though.
  1. Would solid absolutes such as beeswax, oakmoss, vanilla tobacco etc be pre diluted in order to make them more viscous and pourable? or do you just try to dissolve the solids straight into the composition? If diluting, is alcohol/fco/sandalwood preferred?
2. What are some recommended dilution rates for animalics? specifically ambergris, castoreum, hyraceum and civet

3. Obviously when working in very small quantities, certain oils can completely overpower a composition. For example I have added jasmine absolute before and had it take over the entire mix. In these cases is it best to pre dilute the absolute with something like sandalwood? Obviously I can add more of the oils that were previously in the mix to even out the ratio but then I end up using alot of oils and potentially wasting a lot of $$$.

4. I am also wondering about how to go about constructing them in terms of order of ingredients/composition. Is it best to start with base notes and work my way up? Start with heart notes and build around that? Either or? Maybe its better to build accords and then add them in separately?